The students are advised to use the universities library for their research as new books have been made available by the university.


Akwa Ibom State University (AKSU) Library is a multi-campus Library comprising the Main Campus Library at Ikot Akpaden in Mkpat Enin Local Government Area and the Obio Akpa Campus Library in Oruk Anam Local Government Area. The subsidiary AKSU Library at Obio Akpa was originally the defunct College of Agriculture Library. The two AKSU campus libraries assumed full status as academic libraries during the 2010/2011 academic session and have been operating as such ever since. The two libraries were expanded and extended during the tenure of Prof Sunday Peters through the gracious sponsorship of the State Government under His Excellency, Governor (Chief) Godswill Obot Akpabio. The Libraries were established to meet the University’s academic goals of teaching, learning, research and community service in line with the National Universities Commission’s (NUC’s) mandate for University Libraries.

The Main Campus Library supports academic programmes of the Faculties of Natural and Applied Sciences, Engineering and Education at Ikot Akpaden, while the Obio Akpa Campus Library serves the Faculties of Agriculture, Arts, and Social and Management Sciences.

Progress Report and Achievements of Akwa Ibom State   university library from 2011 to date


Akwa Ibom State University opened its doors to pioneer students during the 2010/2011 academic session following the appointment of the first University Vice Chancellor, Professor Sunday Williamson Peters and the Pioneer University Librarian, Dr. (Mrs) Mfon Essien Etuk by the Akwa Ibom State Government in 2011. Her departmental governance is largely in consonance with the functional line of arrangement in formal organizations. The department has since been functional with the creation of the following divisions: Administrative Division, Resource Development Division, Processing Division, Readers’ Services Division and Systems Development Division. These divisions handle administrative responsibilities connected with their divisions. For example, the Administrative Division, headed by the University Librarian, is in charge of major administrative duties of the Library. The Resource Development Division is in charge of acquisitions; the Processing Division handles cataloguing, classification and processing of books and other library materials and transfers them to the Readers’ Services Division which finally circulates them to the readers. The Systems Development Division provides efficient and quality electronic information resources and services including bandwidth subscription and interment connection to members of Akwa Ibom State University.

The Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFUND) is hereby appreciated for the books it donated to the university library and for commissioning an E-Library building with sixty (60) computers and a generating plant in 2011.

(b)       Students’ Population Served:     5,600 Students

(c)       Staff Strength at the two Campus Libraries: currently 65 as against 5 at the takeoff of the library. The Main Campus Library has 31 staff while Obio Akpa Campus Library has 34 members of staff. The difference is due to old staff inherited by Obio Akpa Campus from the defunct College of Agriculture Library.

(d)       Acquisition policy of Akwa Ibom State University library is to build a collection containing the materials that best suit the objectives of the clientele both now and in the future. It is the aim of the library to build in all appropriate field, a collection of highest degree of excellence both qualitative and quantitative that is monetary resources would possibly provide

Lending policy of the library stands at 3 books to staff for one month and two books for students for two weeks